Menu Close


Nemo has been developed since 2014 by a number of people. Initially the library was started by William Hart, Claus Fieker, Fredrik Johansson and Tommy Hofmann.

The authors of Nemo to date:

  • William Hart — maintainer, general infrastructure, Flint wrapper, Pari wrapper, initial generic modules and overall design (supported by DFG Priority programme SPP1489)
  • Tommy Hofmann — maintainer, fq_poly, fq_nmod_poly, nmod_mat and nmod_poly modules, plus numerous (also one of the main authors of Hecke) patches
  • Claus Fieker — maintainer, numerous patches to build system, polynomial, linear algebra and number fields code (also one of the main authors of Hecke and supervisor of student projects using Nemo)
  • Fredrik Johansson — maintainer, polynomial truncation and mullow, Chebyshev polynomials and exp for power series
  • Marek Kaluba — Contributor of permutation groups, Young Tableux and characters code to AbstractAlgebra.jl.

Citing Nemo

If your research depends on computations done with Nemo, please consider giving us a formal citation:

    author = {Fieker, Claus and Hart, William and Hofmann, Tommy and Johansson, Fredrik},
     title = {Nemo/Hecke: Computer Algebra and Number Theory Packages for the Julia Programming Language},
 booktitle = {Proceedings of the 2017 ACM on International Symposium on Symbolic and Algebraic Computation},
    series = {ISSAC '17},
      year = {2017},
     pages = {157--164},
  numpages = {8},
       url = {},
       doi = {10.1145/3087604.3087611},
 publisher = {ACM},
   address = {New York, NY, USA},

If you depend on a specific algorithm, please also consider citing the paper where that algorithm is described (if available).